DATE & TIME
Thursday 29th June 2017
Buckinghamshire RG9 3AE
Join us for a quintessentially British garden party in Fawley Court ‘The swankiest Place to watch the regatta’ (The Sunday Times):
- Unrivalled views of the River Thames and the Regatta
- Rolls-Royce transfer from the main house to Fawley River Club
- Welcome drinks and canapés
- Access to our complimentary floating Long Water Bar
- Gourmet four-course luncheon with quality wines
- Live Band and DJ
- Return River Taxi from Henley town centre
- Riverboat tours of the race course
- Reserved on-site parking at Fawley Court Estate
- Henley Regatta race programme
HENLEY ROYAL REGATTA
Henley Royal Regatta is the oldest and undoubtedly best known regatta in the world and is both one of the highlights of the summer sporting calendar and the social season. It is the only rowing event to be under the patronage of HM The Queen.
It is held annually on the River Thames by the town of Henley-on-Thames, England. It was established on 26 March 1839. The regatta lasts for 5 days (Wednesday to Sunday) over the first weekend in July. Races are head-to-head knock out competitions, raced over a course of 1 mile and 550 yards (2,112 m). The race takes place on the only straight mile stretch on the River Thames where the Fawley Court River Club floats at the halfway point, marked by the umpire bellowing “At Fawley!” as the crews pass.
It attracts thousands of visitors over a 5-day period and spectators will be thrilled by over 200 races of an international standard, including Olympians and crews new to the event.
Fawley Court stands on the bank of the River Thames just north of Henley-upon-Thames. There is evidence the site has been occupied since Domesday, although building in the current location is most likely to have begun in 1616.
In 1682, William Freeman, a London merchant with interests in West Indian sugar plantations, purchased Fawley Court to be his country seat. Intermittent ill-health was forcing early retirement in his late thirties and he wished to create a dwelling in the new style. The architect of the house is reputed to be Sir Christopher Wren, although this has been disputed by modern architectural historians.
After the Freeman, the house continued in the Mackenzie line until it was requisitioned for use by SOE during the Second World War as SOE’s wireless training centre. There were also many members of FANY based at Fawley Court, where they were employed as radio operators, drivers, secretaries, etc., and where they learnt how to operate base stations.
Upon their departure, the house at Fawley was once again left in a state of poor repair after army occupation, and in 1953, the property was purchased by the Congregation of the Marian Fathers and used as a school for Polish boys. A fire in 1976 caused considerable damage in some parts of the house. In 1986 the school closed and in 2008 the Marian Fathers placed the Fawley estate on the market when it was purchased by its current owner.
THE FAWLEY RIVER CLUB
The Fawley River Club is the most unique and unforgettable premium hospitality experience at the Henley Regatta. Its exclusive location on the river, within a Capability Brown park of one of Britain’s finest stately homes. The Fawley River Club features an exclusive restaurant, complete with lounge viewing decks and the spectacular floating ‘Long Water Bar’ experience. The Fawley River Club is an unrivalled experience on the river during the Henley Regatta located within the private Fawley Court Estate.